I’ve Always Loved Annie…

I’ve always loved Annie Leibovitz‘s photography. Sure, I’ve admired her rolling stone covers, and her American Music series, and even her celeb portraits. But that is a fleeting love. What I admire most are her portraits of her partner, Susan Sontag, as she lie dying. Some might say the camera was a tool Leibovitz used to distant herself from the grief of reality, but to me, it certainly shows a presence with that grief. A way of holding griefs hand through a journey. The images are haunting and raw, and those images are, more than anything else, the reason I love Annie.

What do you think?

